The Japanese Hospital in Steveston
Explore the history of the Japanese Hospital which once existed in Steveston! Find out how the Japanese Methodist Mission became a temporary hospital two years after it was built in 1895 during a typhoid outbreak caused by poor drinking water. Japanese Canadian fishermen in Steveston worked together to create this permanent hospital by raising funds and charging membership fees. Eventually, the hospital was renamed the “Steveston Hospital” and continued to serve the public after the Japanese internment. It was sold to the Army, Navy, and Air Force Veterans Club in 1946, and later burned down in 1956.
Mouth of the Fraser Newsletter
Read the Mouth of the Fraser to find out what is happening in Richmond’s museum and heritage community, published by the Richmond Museum and the Richmond Heritage Commission.
|Spring 2017 Issue||Fall 2016 Issue||Spring 2016 Issue||Fall 2015 Issue|
Walking Tour Books
Immerse yourself in Richmond’s stories through Richmond Museum publications, which double as self-guided historical tours. Available for purchase. For more information, please call 604-247-8300.